top of page

The Importance of the English Language


English is the international language of communication in a lot of countries. When I arrived in Romania with the EVS program I discovered many facets to communicate with people born outside the territory of the Russian Federation and accordingly, don’t speak Russian. Unfortunately, in my childhood I did not realise the importance of foreign languages, this led to me never learing English. I think that schools should give increased attention to foreign language lessons. Learning a language opens up new opportunities to travel, to immerse yourself in the culture of other countries to make new friends. The most striking example of ill-treatment of foreign language is Russian dubbed films. Have you ever seen how the name, meaning and even the idea of movie is sometimes completely opposite to the original ? Thus, watching movies in the original language is an incomparable pleasure. People who are just getting started learning a foreign language are facing many challenges, such as the linguistic barrier, the construction of sentences in foreign languages such as Russian. Sergei Dovlatov (Russian and American journalist and writer) moving to Chicago, said that the worst thing that he lost was the opportunity to joke. The highest point in understanding a foreign language is the ability to create a humorous atmosphere and maintain it. The best thing a person can do, is open up new horizons, and not be ashamed of their lack of understanding. In my example, I can say that every day in Romania, I was overcoming my shyness, I was talking with volunteers in English, learning more and I hope that by the end of the program I will be able to speak at a decent level. I am grateful for the program and for the opportunity to meet and work with wonderful people. I am having an incredible communication experience with foreigners.

Foto: Dreamstime.com

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page